Crossing the Threshold: Understanding the Passing Criteria for CA Exams


The Chartered Accountancy (CA) exams are rigorous and comprehensive assessments that determine an individual’s competence and eligibility to become a qualified Chartered Accountant. Aspiring CAs undergo a series of exams, each demanding thorough preparation and dedication. In this blog, we will delve into the passing criteria for CA exams, shedding light on the essential aspects candidates need to consider to successfully cross the threshold of these challenging assessments.

1. Passing Criteria for CA Foundation Exam

The CA Foundation exam consists of four papers, and candidates must achieve a minimum of 40% marks in each paper and an aggregate of 50% in the total of all papers combined to pass the exam. Additionally, candidates who score 70% or above in any subject are eligible for an exemption in that subject for future attempts.

2. Passing Criteria for CA Intermediate Exam

For the CA Intermediate exam, candidates need to meet two criteria for passing:

I. Minimum Marks: Candidates must obtain a minimum of 40% marks in each subject to pass that particular subject.

II. Aggregate Marks: To clear the Intermediate level, candidates need an aggregate of 50% marks in the total of all papers combined.

3. Passing Criteria for CA Final Exam

The CA Final exam consists of two groups, and the passing criteria are as follows:

I. Group-Wise Passing: Candidates need to achieve a minimum of 40% marks in each subject of both Group I and Group II to pass the respective group.

II. Overall Passing: To pass the CA Final exam, candidates must obtain an aggregate of 50% marks in both groups combined.

4. Carry Forward of Marks

In the CA Intermediate and Final exams, if a candidate scores more than the minimum passing marks in any subject, the excess marks (above 40%) are carried forward and set off against the marks of any other subject in which the candidate has obtained less than the minimum passing marks.

5. Exemptions

If a candidate fails to clear the CA Intermediate or Final exam but scores a minimum of 60% marks in any one or more subjects, those subjects’ marks are carried forward as exemptions for the next three exam attempts.


The passing criteria for CA exams are stringent, reflecting the high standard of expertise required to become a qualified Chartered Accountant. Aspiring CAs must meet the minimum marks required in each subject and achieve the aggregate marks specified for each level to successfully pass the exams. Understanding the passing criteria is essential for candidates to plan their exam preparation effectively and focus on strengthening weak areas. Moreover, the carry forward of marks and exemptions offer candidates the opportunity to build on their strengths and improve their performance in subsequent attempts. The CA exams demand dedication, hard work, and a comprehensive understanding of the subjects, but crossing the threshold of these challenging assessments brings candidates closer to their.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Now Button